Coming home…

And here we are at the end of my six month internship. There is so much I have learned in the past half year. I have grown to know what I should not be and who I need to be. My identity is in Christ and that is all that matters. I have made mistakes on the way, but we all live, learn, and grow. Everything has made this trip challenging and amazing at the same time.

Week 24: I built my eighteenth house and final house of my time with YUGO. The group I was building with was from Oregon. They had two building groups and started building for people in the same family, side by side. This is one of the few builds that most of the family members did not speak Spanish, they were actually Aztec Indians. They still helped and tried to communicate but they spoke an Indian dialect which made things a little harder.

The home church of fellow intern Rachel came from Pennsylvania. Even though I did not build with them I still made new friends and that was fun! I was able to go to San Diego with them for a last hurrah with Rachel before we went home. I ended up getting sick from eating corn in a cup from the border. Corn in a cup is corn that is cut off the cob, put in clamato juice with hot sauce, butter, and cotija cheese. It is very good, but I do not recommend buying it from the border vendors.

img_2533
Sammi and I with the finished house behind us. My final house this year!
img_7112
Last Sunday with everyone.

Praise God for everything I have learned during this trip. I want to thank YUGO ministries for this opportunity to be an intern with them. Thank you to Annie, Jonathan, and Gabby for being our leaders, you guys definitely had the toughest job. You led all of us on our spiritual journey in a pivotal moment of our lives. Thank you to all my foreman: Ricardo, Lalo, Gerson, Rodolfo, Mollie, Nate and Dio, all of you were the people I spent the most time with and have learned the most from you. To the best band: Cheko, Julie, Chispa, Julio, Jose, Page, Josh, and Pablo, thank you for leading amazing worship and just being fun to hang out with. The most wonderful volunteers: Brad, Sammy, and Alex, always there for a laugh. Leaders of the YUGO staff: Scott, Adam, Nathan, and Dave, you guys have shown me how to lead with strong faith and passion for YUGO’s mission. Melissa my amazing friend that helped me through my walk with the Lord and general life challenges. Special mentions: Pamela, Tammy Cinthia, Aicila, Ana, and Addie, you are amazing women. Thank you my forever friends Josue and Martin. Every single team that I worked with over the past six months. I have loved meeting and working with all of them! They all helped me in my spiritual walk and I am blessed and thankful for everything I have been given through these amazing people. Love is Jesus. HUPOMONE!

Leave a comment